Capital: Dodoma
current time and date
currency: Tanzanian shilling (TZS)
Official languages
Life expectancy
Literacy rate
National anthem
Internet TLD & calling code:
Coat of arms

Photo: Bjørn Tørrissen License: CC
Tanzania profile
Kilimanjaro is the highest point in Africa and one of only two mountains on the continent that has glaciers (the other is Mount Kenya);

bordered by three of the largest lakes on the continent: Lake Victoria (the world's second-largest freshwater lake) in the north, Lake Tanganyika (the world's second deepest) in the west, and Lake Nyasa (Lake Malawi) in the southwest
Tanzania history
Shortly after achieving independence from Britain in the early 1960s, Tanganyika and Zanzibar merged to form the nation of Tanzania in 1964. One-party rule ended in 1995 with the first democratic elections held in the country since the 1970s. Zanzibar's semi-autonomous status and popular opposition have led to two contentious elections since 1995, which the ruling party won despite international observers' claims of voting irregularities. The formation of a government of national unity between Zanzibar's two leading parties succeeded in minimizing electoral tension in 2010.
interesting Tanzania facts
Conventional long form: United Republic of Tanzania

Conventional short form: Tanzania

Local long form: Jamhuri ya Muungano wa Tanzania

Local short form: Tanzania

Formerly known as: United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar
fun Tanzania facts for kids
Tanzania's capital city is Dar es Salaam
amazing Tanzania facts
Tanzania Constitution:

25 April 1977;

major revisions October 1984
Tanzania facts for kids
Tanzania population growth rate: 2.85%
Tanzania facts for kids
Tanzania highest point: Kilimanjaro 5,895 m (highest point in Africa)
interesting Tanzania facts for kids
Tanzania lowest point: Indian Ocean 0 m
fun Tanzania facts for kids
About 4% of Tanzania's land is arable.
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Ruvuma River is the Longest River in Tanzania
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Tanzania birth rate is 38 births/1,000 population
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Tanzania infant mortality rate is 47 deaths/1,000 live births
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Tanzania fertility rate is 5.01 children born/woman
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Tanzania climate:

varies from tropical along coast to temperate in highlands
interesting Tanzania facts
Top 10 cities of Tanzania with populations (2012 est.) are:
1. Dar es Salaam: 2,698,652
2. Mwanza: 436,801
3. Zanzibar City: 403,658
4. Arusha: 341,136
5. Mbeya: 291,649
6. Morogoro: 250,902
7. Tanga: 224,876
8. Dodoma: 180,541
9. Kigoma: 164,268
10. Moshi, Kilimanjaro: 156,959
Tanzania fun facts for kids
Tanzania ethnic groups:

mainland - African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes)

other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab)

Zanzibar - Arab, African, mixed Arab and African
interesting Tanzania facts
Tanzania Exports:



cashew nuts


interesting Tanzania facts
Tanzania Imports:

consumer goods

machinery and transportation equipment

industrial raw materials

crude oil
interesting Tanzania facts
unicameral National Assembly or Bunge (357 seats; 239 members elected by popular vote, 102 allocated to women nominated by the president, 5 to members of the Zanzibar House of Representatives; members serve five-year terms, up to 10 additional members appointed by the president, 1 seat reserved for the Attorney General); note - in addition to enacting laws that apply to the entire United Republic of Tanzania, the Assembly enacts laws that apply only to the mainland; Zanzibar has its own House of Representatives with jurisdiction exclusive to Zanzibar (the Zanzibar House of Representatives has 50 seats; members elected by universal suffrage to serve five-year terms)

Administrative Divisions:
30 regions
Arusha, Dar es Salaam, Dodoma, Geita, Iringa, Kagera, Kaskazini Pemba (Pemba North), Kaskazini Unguja (Zanzibar North), Katavi, Kigoma, Kilimanjaro, Kusini Pemba (Pemba South), Kusini Unguja (Zanzibar Central/South), Lindi, Manyara, Mara, Mbeya, Mjini Magharibi (Zanzibar Urban/West), Morogoro, Mtwara, Mwanza, Njombe, Pwani (Coast), Rukwa, Ruvuma, Shinyanga, Simiyu, Singida, Tabora, Tanga
Political parties and leaders:
Chama Cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo (Party of Democracy and Development) (CHADEMA) - Willibrod SLAA

Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) (Revolutionary Party) - Jakaya Mrisho KIKWETE

Civic United Front (CUF) - Ibrahim LIPUMBA

Democratic Party - Christopher MTIKLA (unregistered)

National Convention for Construction and Reform - Mageuzi - Hashim RUNGWE

Tanzania Labor Party (TLP) - Mutamwega MUGAHWYA

United Democratic Party (UDP) - Fahma DOVUTWA